Monday, May 6, 2013


As I have been gluten-free now for almost 9 months I've found there are more and more items to watch out for.  I eat out, my stomach aches, and I wonder what I could've eaten to cause this pain for days.  I went to the grocery store a couple weeks ago and picked up Manwich.  I made a delicious gluten-free meal and had eaten it for the rest of the week.  My stomach ached some each day but I figured everything I had eaten was GF and was a fluke.  I did some research and found out that the distilled vinegar in the ingredients could have been the culprit!  

Facts about Vinegars:

  • Distilled Vinegar - can be distilled from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples and many other things. Most in the USA are not made from wheat, but are instead made from corn, potatoes or wood, which are all safe (Heinz white vinegar is distilled from corn).  [from:]
  • Malted Vinegars - usually not gluten-free and should be avoided [all malt should be avoided]
  • Apple Cider Vinegar - is safe!
  • Balsamic Vinegar - begins as grapes and is aged in wood --> the paste used to seal the cracks in the wood could be wheat or rye flour [up for desecration]

ALWAYS check labels and ask questions.  

Vinegar is in many foods, including:
  • Sushi rice
  • Mustard
  • Ketchup
  • Relish
  • Condiments
  • etc.
Even when eating out, always  ere on the side of caution and ask for non-marinated chicken and ask for a gluten-free menu.

As I stumble across more gluten-containg products, I'll share with you all :)